When an accident happens on someone else’s property, the property owner could be held responsible. The most common type of accidents that could occur on another person’s property is slip and fall.
Assuming that you have been involved in a slip and fall accident on someone else’s property, your best option is to speak with someone who has the right knowledge and experience in dealing with these situations.
If you do not have an attorney on speed dial, you should definitely give our Seattle Slip and Fall Accident Lawyers a call and schedule your free consultation today. You could be eligible to receive compensation for your injuries. Here are a few tips that will help you win your slip and fall accident case in the state of Washington.
Pay Attention To The Statute of Limitations
The first thing to keep in mind is the time limit for filing a lawsuit. According to the Code of Washington section 4.16.080, you have three years to file a lawsuit (or the initial complaint) against a property owner or any other defendant who is responsible for the unsafe conditions on their property. That being said, you should take your time to focus on your recovery, speak with our attorneys and find out about the compensation and everything else related to your accident. Once you have the right idea in mind and you know where you want to go with your claim, you should file an initial claim and start the process.
Keep in mind that missing the deadline will cause you to lose any rights to compensation. Check-in with our attorneys every now and then and once you are ready, file a claim within the time limit.
Another very important thing to pay attention to is negligence. In order to file an injury claim against the property owner, you have to be able to prove their negligence. This means that you should be prepared to defend your case.
Things that you can use against the property owner include:
- Dangerous property conditions
- Lack of negligence on the property
- Lack of safety measures or signs of warning on the property (in case there was any work done on the property)
One thing to pay attention to is comparative negligence. That means that even if you are partially at fault, you could still get compensated for your injuries. Once the investigation is conducted and negligence is determined, you will be provided with the compensation that is reduced by the amount of “your fault”; in other words, if you are 25 percent at fault and the property owner is 75 percent at fault, your total compensation will be deducted by 25 percent.
Call our Slip and Fall Accident Lawyers in Seattle and get ready to negotiate with the other party’s insurance company. If you do not like the initial offer, consult with our attorneys. Do not hesitate to push the case to trial if the offer is not what you expected it to be.