Pennsylvania is one of the states in the U.S. known for having a high number of personal injury claims filed each year. No one exactly knows why this is so, but many assume that it is because of many reckless and negligent drivers.
Big cities like Philadelphia are filled with vehicles, and accidents occur on a daily basis. Among other things, Philadelphia is famous for being the first city in the United States to design and use a courthouse exclusively for complex claims.
That being said, if you find yourself in a situation where you require a personal injury lawyer to settle your case, this will be good news for you. The city has some of the best attorneys in the country. In case that you do not have a personal injury attorney on speed dial, feel free to reach out to Philadelphia personal injury attorneys today, schedule a free consultation and learn how you can file a claim and receive compensation for your injuries.
Here are the basics of personal injury law in Pennsylvania.
Got Injured? Act Now!
Normally, when a person gets injured, they want to deal with the situation as quickly as possible. However, some injuries could cause one to be bound to the hospital bed, and unable to resume their normal daily activities until fully healed. Whether you are the person who just received light injuries or the one who will not leave the hospital for a month or so, you should know that you have a certain amount of time to act and file a personal injury claim. This time limit is called the statute of limitations, and in Pennsylvania, this deadline is two years from the moment of the accident.
Use that time wisely, and as soon as you are done recovering from your injuries, talk to your attorney and file a claim.
Were You At Fault?
There will be cases where both parties will be partially at fault. When this happens, it is important to remain calm, not to admit any guilt to the police (or the other party), and to consult with a knowledgeable attorney for evaluation.
Even if you are partially at fault, as long as you are less than 50 percent at fault, you will be responsible for paying only your shares of the damages. However, if you are more than 50 percent at fault, you may take greater responsibility for the accident, according to the modified comparative negligence doctrine.
It is in your best interests to schedule a free consultation with an attorney today. Call offices and personal injury attorneys in Philadelphia will help determine your fault, investigate your case and help you prove negligence. Once that is done, they will negotiate the settlement on your behalf and help you secure and obtain compensation for your:
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wages
- Medical bills
- Loss of companionship
- Property damage
- Loss of earning capacity
- Emotional distress
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Out-of-pocket expenses